Chapter Two (Coming Into Focus)

Seven days had passed since the incident. I had gone about my normal routine-doing laundry on Sunday, working Monday through Friday, going home at 7 pm and reading my romance novels, but I noticed everyday that something was missing. I thought at first that it was the guys and I decided to let myself just miss it because I knew I wasn’t going to let that happen again, but realized that it wasn’t. It felt like there was a big, empty gap in my heart waiting for the right person to come along and fill up that empty space.

I am lonely. More lonely than I’d ever felt, but I still wouldn’t back down. The night of the seventh day, I got my old stuffed animal lamb out of the back of my closet, dusted it off and took it to bed with me. I needed something to sleep with, because I felt bare and alone.

The next day, I got out of bed early. It was my day off, but I still got up early. I felt I needed to. I decided to go to the gym. I hadn’t been to the gym for years, but I put on my sweat-shorts, a tank top, and a sweatshirt with a hood, and walked down the street to the corner, where the gym was located.

As I walked into the gym, I decided I was going to start going to the gym every morning again-like I used to. After signing in with my work ID-I had free admission because I worked at the coffee shop that advertised this place on two of its walls-I climbed onto the treadmill and put up the speed as fast as I could go.

I did that for about four hours and until I could run no more. Once finished I signed out and went across the street to the coffee shop I call work. I got a free coffee-because I work there-and sat at a table in the far corner. I watched the people pass by out the window. Seeing a couple stop to kiss, I decided I wanted to be like them. They had a baby stroller with a pink-cheeked, chubby baby inside. As soon as they started walking again, a tear fell down my cheek. I quickly wiped it away so no one would see.

A finely muscled man stepped into the coffee shop. His police uniform was black like most police in this town, but it was tight on him and looked really sexy. I quickly turned away when I received butterflies in my stomach from the smile he gave my before walking to the counter to order his drink. This man wasn’t like the men I usually had sex with. He wasn’t that type. Somehow I could tell.

After ordering his drink he sat down at a table two down from mine. I tried to ignore him and reach for my coffee to take a sip, but my coffee was empty. I reluctantly left the shop to head to my house.

Once home, I took another shower and brushed my teeth this time. I decided to go for a drive in my beat up mini-van. I drove around the city and got lost in my mind as I went. I heard the sirens after a few minutes of driving down Wentworth Street.

I pulled to the side of the road thinking they were going to pass me, but the cop pulled up behind my van. I couldn’t remember what I had done wrong. So I decided to ask the officer once they were by my window. I turned down the radio and waited as the officer walked up to my window.

When he finally came into view, I rolled down my window. I immediately noticed it was the man from the coffee shop.

“Hello officer” I said in my timid voice. Not meaning to sound shy, I quickly straightened in my seat while he stood and looked at me.

“You?” he said back.

“I’m pretty sure we saw each other in the coffee shop earlier-if that’s what you’re talking about.” I explained.

“Yes, um…” He seemed like he lost his authority then. He looked a little shy himself.

“Did I do something wrong, officer?”

“Your tail light is flickering. Just wanted to let you know it’s about to go out.”

“It always does that. The mechanic can’t seem to fix it. He doesn’t know what’s wrong with it.”

“Oh okay. Can I see license and registration, please?” He slowly went back to how cops normally act.

“Yes, one sec” I handed him my license and went to the glove box to get the rest. Handing it to him, I looked up expectantly.

“Mrs. Granger, I’m going to let you off with a warning. Get a new brake light and this won’t happen again.”

“It’s Miss”

“Oh”

“Yea, never been a Mrs.” I said. Hoping he’d take the hint. I wasn’t really flirting, just humoring it a little.

“Well, Miss Granger, I have one more question. I know I’m not supposed to do this on the job, but just in case I never see you again, how would you feel about meeting me for lunch in about two hours at the coffee shop I saw you in this morning?”

My cheeks were sure to be bright red. I could feel the heat. All I could do was nod.

“Okay” He had a big smile on his face. “I’ll see you then, and I hope you get your brake light fixed. I’d hate to have to pull you over again and give you a ticket.

Okay officer… umm…” I didn’t know his name.

“Cole Perdue” he said with a big smile on his face. “Just call me Cole.”

“You can call my Angela. I go by my middle name.

“I can see why.” He handed back my stuff. “Beatrice is quite an interesting name.” He chuckled.

I blushed bright red again.

He turned to leave, but looked back. “I hope to see you at the shop at 2. Bye.”

I mumbled a good-bye and rolled up my window. It was then that I noticed he never put my name in his computer or wrote up a warning ticket. I smiled to myself.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

